2018 Norths Rapid Championship

9 rounds over three nights - Tuesdays 14, 21 and 28 August 

FIDE and ACF rated

Congratulations to 2018 Rapid Champion Brandon Clarke and the other prizewinners: 
1st: FM Brandon Clarke
2nd: CM Clive Ng
3rd: Denan Diep 
Rating Group A (U1780-1622): Rob Watson, Anup Kumar Siva Sankaran and John Macfarlane
Rating Group B (U1622-1493): Frank Low
Rating Group C (U1493): Anshika Jain
Unrated: Mia Jigando Balan

Location and time: 7:30 pm, Norths (formerly North Sydney Leagues Club), cnr Abbott & Palmer Streets, Cammeray.

:  14 Aug Rds 1,2 and 3 |  21 Aug Rds 4, 5 and 6 | 28 Aug  Rds 7, 8 and 9. Play commences at 7:30 pm. 

Format: 9 round (Dutch) Swiss, with pairings by Vega.

Eligibility: Players who are not Australian citizens or permanent residents must have a FIDE ID.

Entry Fees: Norths Chess Club members $20; non-members $30.

Time Control: All moves in 20 minutes + 10 seconds increment per move from move 1.

Rating: A player's touranment rating (used for pairings and rating prizes) will be determined according to the following hierarchy:
  1. FIDE Rapid rating
  2. FIDE Standard rating
  3. ACF Quick rating
  4. ACF Classic rating
Players without any of these ratings will be considered unrated. Results will be submitted for the ACF Quick and FIDE Rapid rating lists.

Prizes: 1st - $250; 2nd - $150, 3rd - $100, Rating Group A, B and C: $80 each, Unrated: $40 (based on 50 entries). Prizes will be shared equally among players on the same score but each player may receive only one prize.

Byes: Players may take up to two half-point byes in Rounds 1–7 by advising the arbiter prior to the day of the relevant round (e.g. a request for a bye for Round 5 must be made to the arbiter prior to 21 August).

Tiebreaks: In the event of ties, prize monies will be shared. The winner and standings order will be determined by applying the following tiebreaks in descending order:
  1. Direct encounter 
  2. Buchholtz Cut 1 
  3. Average Rating of Opponents Cut 1
Rules: The FIDE Laws of Chess apply, including Appendix A: Rapid Chess and Appendix A.4.

Arbiter: Nick Cooper

  • Rating Group A, B and C are the players in the 2nd, 3rd and 4th quartiles of the rated players (e.g. if there are 40 rated players, rating Groups A, B  and C include the 11th-20th, 21st-30th and 31st-40th rated players respectively).
  • Rating prizes are awarded based on the rating hierarchy stated in the Rating heading above. Players without any of those ratings are considered to be unrated and are ineligible for rating prizes. A minimum of 3 players is required for a prize to be awarded.
Entries close: Entries must be received by 12 August 2018. Late entries will be accepted at the arbiter's discretion, with up to two byes automatically allocated for missed rounds.

Entry: CLICK HERE for on-line form, or CLICK HERE to download the PDF. Right of entry is reserved.

Enquiries: northsydneychess@gmail.com or call 0414 793 791.

CLICK HERE for previous years' results