John Purdy Memorial

2022 John Purdy Memorial Open


Incorporating the 2022 NSW Women’s Championship

Congratulations to our new Purdy Memorial Champion Cameron McGowan and other prizewinners

John Purdy Memorial Trophy: Cameron McGowan on tiebreak
Open: =1st Cameron McGowan, Marco Zheng;  3rd Sterling Bayaca
Rating group A: 1st Ian Parsonage; =2nd Chris Ball, Mark Baterowicz, Stephen Garner, Jongmin Lim, Henning Muller, Kristine Quek
Rating group B: 1st Reyaansh Chakrabarty;=2nd Tom Beeh, Craig Duker
Rating group C: =1st Joy Liu Vedantik Bhattacharyya
Rating group D: 1st Nathan Arav; 2nd Jonathan Kuba
Unrated: =1st Jonathan Sua, Layla Nafari
Upset prize winners: Daniel Ding, Chelsea Huey, Nathan Arav, Jonathan Kuba, Ethan Chang, Darryl Ross, James Gough, Reyaansh Chakrabarty, Owen Yang

CLICK HERE for the latest Vega results in a new window.


Tournament Information and Rules 

ACF and FIDE rated

Nine rounds. Tuesdays from 23 August to 18 October (1 November is a spare session for venue availability issues). 

Join us for the Purdy Blitz on 16 August

Location: Norths (formerly North Sydney Leagues Club), cnr Abbott & Palmer Streets, Cammeray.

Time: Games start at 7:30 pm.

Format: 9 round Swiss (Dutch) tournament, with pairings generated by Vega. Should the final field be large and with a wide spread of ratings, the Organisers will consider using accelerated pairings for the early rounds. Norths Chess Club has at times experienced venue booking conflicts at short notice which have necessitated changes to tournament arrangements. The organisers reserve the right to reduce the number of rounds in the event of the venue becoming unavailable.

Time control: All moves in 90 minutes + an increment of 30 seconds per move from move 1.

Eligibility: Players who are not Australian citizens or permanent residents must have a FIDE ID. (To request a FIDE ID from a national Federation contact details for them are @ Adult players must be members of or have paid a Registered Player Fee to the NSWCA. Juniors (aged under 18 years) must be members of the NSWJCL. Interstate players must be members of the equivalent State or Territory Association.

Prizes: * see notes below:

Open: 1st = $1,000 | 2nd = $500 | 3rd = $300
Rating: $100 and $50 for 1st and 2nd in rating categories A, B, C and D (where these are the second, third, fourth and fifth quintiles of rated players)
Unrated: $50
Upset: $50 per round (for biggest upset based on rating difference)


- The John Purdy Memorial Champion is be awarded to the highest placed Norths member.
- NSWCA will award the title of NSW Women's Champion and a $250 prize to the highest scoring eligible female player. This may be won in addition to any other prize but is conditional on five female entries at least one of whom is ACF-rated over 1800. In the case of a tie, the title and prize money will be shared. Eligibility for this title is for NSW residents who are full members of NSWCA or the NSWJCL.

Ratings: The tournament rating used for pairings and prizes is ACF Classic, or if a player doesn't have an ACF Classic rating, the FIDE Standard rating. Results will be submitted for the ACF Classic and FIDE Standard rating lists.

Entry Fees: Norths Chess Club Members $30; Others $40. Free for GM, WGM, IM,WIM.

Entries: Entries must be received by Sunday 21 August. Late entries will be at the discretion of the arbiter and may not be included in the first round draw. CLICK HERE TO ENTER. Right of entry is reserved.

Draaws: The draw for the next round will be circulated by email and published on the webpage on the Sunday night before the round is scheduled to be played.

Norths Chess Club tries to have as many players possible have an opponent in every round. Players can be left without an opponent by forfeit. Where the organisers have been advised in advance of a player needing to forfeit (for example due to illness) a new set of pairings may be issued. We recognise this may advantage or disadvantage a player and will attempt to minimise this. New pairings will be made following advice given no later than 4 PM on the day before play and will be published by email and website on the evening before play.

Half-point Byes: Up to two half-point byes are permitted in rounds 1-7. Requests for a bye must be received by the arbiter no later than midday on the Sunday immediately prior to the round.

Forfeits: Any player who arrives at the chessboard more than one hour after the scheduled start of the session shall lose the game, unless the Arbiter decides otherwise.

If you won't make it to a round, you must inform the organisers. Your opponents make an effort to come to the club expecting to play a game, some travelling a long way and by public transport. Making them wait for you to not arrive is impolite and against our club ethos.  The club email is monitored up to the start of play. 

Players who cause clock forfeits will be excluded from the following round. Players doing so twice in a tournament will be removed from the remaining rounds and entry to other events may be refused.

Recording of Moves: All moves must be recorded on the provided score sheet.

Electronic devices: Without the permission of the arbiter a player is forbidden to have a mobile phones or other electronic means of communication in the playing venue unless they are completely switched off. If any such device produces a sound, the player shall lose the game. The arbiter must be asked for permission before the start of play if a device is needed for health or emergency reasons.

Tiebreaks: In the event of ties, prize monies will be shared. If eligible players are tied, the winner of the John Purdy Memorial Trophy will be determined by applying the following tiebreaks in descending order:

- Direct encounter
- Buchholtz Cut 1
- Average Rating of Opponents Cut 1

Rules: The FIDE Laws of Chess apply, in conjunction with these tournament rules.

Arbiter: Rob Watson.

Appeals panel: TBA.


- Players are eligible for one non-upset prize only. The only exception to this is the prize for the NSW Women's Champion which may be won in addition to another prize.
- No player may receive more than one upset prize.
- Rating and upset prizes will be awarded based on the rating hierarchy specified in the Ratings section above. Players without either of those ratings will be considered to be unrated and are ineligible for rating or upset prizes.


CLICK HERE for previous years' results.

Copyright © 2023 Norths Chess Club