About Norths Chess Club


Norths Chess Club has been operating since 1908, when it was established as Chatswood Chess Club. One of the earliest venues was the School of Arts on Victoria Avenue, Chatswood, now the site of The Concourse.


Members have included many of Australia's famous names, among them Lajos Steiner, John Purdy, Terry Shaw and Phillip Viner, and has been home to star players Max Ilingworth and Anton Smirnov. The first Club Champion was H. Edmunds; the first President C. N. Blackhouse.

Read more

come play!!!


Latest News

  • Club Championship and Bitz

    25 January our tournament calendar starts with the Club Championship Blitz. No registration is needed ... ... Read more
  • Message from the President

    2021 It was another unusual year with a number of highs interspersed with some Covid-induced lows. ... Read more
  • Summer Blitz

    Congratulations to Jack Rodgers, who took the event over 2nd Robert Sunaryo and =3ed Gareth Charles ... Read more
More news
Copyright © 2022 Norths Chess Club